Ir directamente a la información del producto
1 de 2

Sonny Rollins The Sound of Sonny

Precio habitual €22,99 EUR
Precio habitual Precio de oferta €22,99 EUR
Oferta Agotado
Impuesto incluido. Los gastos de envío se calculan en la pantalla de pago.

Sonny Rollins' The Sound of Sonny


Released in 1957, "The Sound of Sonny" captures a transformative period in Sonny Rollins' career. A saxophonist with an ability to reinvent and breathe fresh life into familiar tunes, Rollins presented this record with a minimalist setting, opting for bass and drums, and deliberately excluding piano accompaniment. The result is a raw, intimate sound that places Rollins' saxophone at the forefront.

Key Features:

  • Innovative Lineup: The choice to go without a piano was a daring move, presenting a stripped-down sound that accentuates the intricacies of Rollins' playing. This minimalist approach allows for a greater focus on Rollins' interpretative prowess.

  • Reimagining the Familiar: Rollins had a knack for taking well-known songs and making them his own. From pop tunes like "Toot, Toot, Tootsie, Goodbye" to ballads like "Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye", he infused each track with his own distinctive flair.

  • Eclectic Song Choices: The album includes a mix of jazz standards, pop tunes, and ballads, illustrating Rollins' wide-ranging musical tastes and his ability to put his own stamp on various genres.

  • Addition of a Bonus Track: The inclusion of a tenth tune offers listeners a more comprehensive insight into the recording sessions, showcasing the depth and diversity of Rollins' music during this period.


"The Sound of Sonny" is a testament to Sonny Rollins' ingenuity and the depth of his musical exploration. The opening track, "The Last Time I Saw Paris", immediately sets the tone, with Rollins' sultry and contemplative interpretation. Tracks like "Just in Time" and "Cutie" showcase his playful side, while ballads such as "What is There to Say" underscore his emotional depth.

Perhaps most striking is "Funky Hotel Blues", a tune that encapsulates the spirit of the album. Here, Rollins weaves in and out of bluesy riffs, showcasing his impeccable timing and innovative phrasing.

Envío y devoluciones

El envío con seguimiento es un precio fijo de 4,99 €, independientemente de la cantidad de artículos que pida. Los pedidos generalmente se entregan dentro de los 2 días hábiles.

Póngase en contacto con nosotros si desea discutir una devolución y lo ayudaremos en todo lo que podamos.


Vinilo disponible para envío desde Irlanda o para Click & Collect desde:

Regalos Zhivago - Shop Street - Galway