Skip to product information
1 of 2

Lana Del Rey Ultraviolence

Regular price €44,99 EUR
Regular price Sale price €44,99 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Lana Del Rey - "Ultraviolence" Album Overview

In 2014, Lana Del Rey released her third studio album, "Ultraviolence." Building upon her signature "Hollywood sadcore" aesthetic, this album showcased a grittier, darker sound, influenced by rock and blues. With the ethereal production led by The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach, the album offers a cinematic experience rife with tales of tragic romance, decadence, and melancholia.

Key Highlights

  • Production Quality: The atmospheric production on this album, primarily by Dan Auerbach, enhances Lana’s sultry vocals and brings a cohesiveness to the project, making it one of her most critically acclaimed works.

  • Thematic Depth: "Ultraviolence" dives deep into themes of tragic love, fatalism, and the darker sides of fame. It often blurs the line between the glamour of Hollywood and its more sinister undertones.

  • Musical Evolution: The album marked a departure from the hip-hop influenced sound of her previous record, "Born to Die". Instead, it gravitated towards psychedelic rock, dream pop, and desert rock vibes.

  • Chart Performance: Upon its release, "Ultraviolence" debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, demonstrating Lana's growing commercial prowess.

Standout Tracks

  • "Cruel World": The opening track sets the tone for the entire album. It's haunting, cinematic, and oozes the languid glamour Lana is known for.

  • "Shades of Cool": A ballad that showcases Lana's vocal prowess against a backdrop of dreamy guitar solos and orchestral sounds.

  • "Brooklyn Baby": A melodic ode to the hipster culture of Brooklyn, touching upon themes of youth, love, and freedom.

  • "West Coast": The lead single from the album, it blends soft rock with a slow-burning chorus, further showcasing the album's diverse soundscape.

Final Thoughts

"Ultraviolence" solidified Lana Del Rey's position as a mainstay in contemporary music. Through this project, she cemented her reputation as a master storyteller, weaving tales of love, pain, and the duality of life. The album is a rich tapestry of sounds and stories that takes the listener on a roller-coaster ride through the dark underbelly of glamour and fame. It's a melancholic, cinematic journey that only Lana Del Rey could craft so masterfully.

Shipping & Returns


Tracked Shipping to Ireland & Northern Ireland is a Flat €4.99, no matter how many items you order. Orders are generally delivered within 2 working days.

Please Contact Us if you wish to discuss a return and we will help in any way we can.


Vinyl Available to Ship From Ireland or for Click & Collect from:

Zhivago Gifts - Shop Street - Galway