Cart 0
Paul Heaton Jacqui Abbot Crooked Calypso

Paul Heaton Jacqui Abbot Crooked Calypso

  • €17,99
    Unit price per 
  • Save €7
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Vinyl LP pressing. 2017 release, the third album from former Beautiful South vocalists Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott. Crooked Calypso boasts all the hallmarks of Heaton's peerless songwriting: songs buoyant with melody, and redolent with biting wit, but also real emotion. Opening track 'I Gotta Praise', a euphoric secular Gospel anthem, raises the roof and opens the record in style. 'The Lord Is A White Con', meanwhile, considers religion as an exploitative tool of empire builders, while 'She Got The Garden' is the wittiest divorce song since 'D-I-V-O-R-C-E'. And then there is 'Blackwater Banks', a gorgeous Irish waltz that the Dubliners would be proud to call their own.

  • Disc 1
  • 1I Gotta Praise
  • 2He Wants To
  • 3If I May
  • 4She Got the Garden
  • 5People Like Us
  • 6Blackwater Banks
  • 7The Lord Is a White Con
  • 8Silence Is
  • 9Love Makes You Happy
  • 10The Fat Man
  • 11Your Bit of Stuff
  • 12He Can't Marry Her