Skip to product information
1 of 2

Cure Pornography

Regular price €19,99 EUR
Regular price €32,99 EUR Sale price €19,99 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Cure - "Pornography" Album Overview

"Pornography" is the fourth studio album by British rock band The Cure, released in 1982. It is often cited as the band's most somber and abrasive work, completing the band's post-punk trilogy along with "Seventeen Seconds" (1980) and "Faith" (1981). The album is drenched in a deep sense of despair, nihilism, and introspection, making it one of the key records in the gothic rock genre.

Key Highlights

  • Themes and Sound: "Pornography" is characterized by its haunting, atmospheric sounds, raw guitars, and pounding drums. Its themes revolve around existential despair, sexual tension, and existential angst, making it one of the darkest albums in The Cure's discography.

  • Band Dynamics: The recording of the album was particularly tumultuous for the band, with several reports of physical fights, substance abuse, and general strain among the members. This tension, however, translated into one of their most passionate and intense records.

  • Influence: The album's sound and aesthetic have heavily influenced future goth, post-punk, and alternative acts. Its raw emotion and dark themes have made it a touchstone for fans of darker alternative music.

Standout Tracks

  • "One Hundred Years": The opening track of the album, it sets the tone with the chilling line "It doesn't matter if we all die." The song is intense, brooding, and encapsulates the despair of the entire album.

  • "The Hanging Garden": With its tribal drums and angular guitars, it's one of the more 'upbeat' tracks on the album but still carries the same weight of melancholy.

  • "Siamese Twins": A slow, haunting track that perfectly captures the essence of the album's despair and beauty.

Shipping & Returns


Tracked Shipping to Ireland & Northern Ireland is a Flat €4.99, no matter how many items you order. Orders are generally delivered within 2 working days.

Please Contact Us if you wish to discuss a return and we will help in any way we can.


Vinyl Available to Ship From Ireland or for Click & Collect from:

Zhivago Gifts - Shop Street - Galway